Sea Bee museum and High school football in Oxnard - Reisverslag uit Washington, D. C., Verenigde Staten van Michelle Menick - WaarBenJij.nu Sea Bee museum and High school football in Oxnard - Reisverslag uit Washington, D. C., Verenigde Staten van Michelle Menick - WaarBenJij.nu

Sea Bee museum and High school football in Oxnard

Door: Michelle

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Michelle

16 Oktober 2009 | Verenigde Staten, Washington, D. C.

Just arrived back from a football game. Spending my last week in Oxnard with Janet, Henry's daughter and her family. Last night, things were a little uncomfortable, I didn't really know them yet. I had met Ashley and Sierra, Janet's daughters, before, when they came to visit uncle Henry, but hadn't really spoken to them yet.

So, my family, cousins, they're awesome! Little crazy though, funny crazy ofcourse. Janet's husband is Marco. [When uncle Henry brought me to his their house, I called Janet to tell we were almost there. But Marco picked up and probably thought it was 'opa', or uncle Henry, and said: 'No one home, just us chickens, kwak, kwak. kwak, kwak. So, that's Marco] Then there are two girls Ashley, she's seventeen (and she gets to drive her own car!) and Sierra, who's fifteen-year-old. Also, I have two new cousins called Hunter (8) and Jacob (7).
Marco's working at the navy of America, and they live on a base. I had never been on a 'base' before, I don't even know if we have that in Holland. Anyway, to enter the base you have to get through a gate and show the guards that you or live there or come visit someone. The base is huge, a couple a miles. It has it's own, like store, but it's big and you can buy there anything you want. And since the people are working in the navy, they don't have to pay taxes (That's were I bought your UGGs Grace ;-) And they are real, so your lucky!)
It is a base, though, it does have roads and many streets and traffic lights. You could see it as a little village. Also, on the base there is a museum called Sea Bees. It's about the navy of the USA. All the way from world war I until recently. You get to see ads and newspapers; in WWI and WWII there were many ads try to get people sign up to become a Sea Bee. Walt Disney actually made a cartoon figuring as Sea Bees. Moreover, you could see things the Americans need to wear when they went to the Antartics. Cause of the climate up there, they had to put things - of which I don't remember what they were called - under their boots in order not to slip, walking their way through the snow. They showed you why it was so hard for Americans to get along there, since it was so cold; there was some background information on Antartics and many things they used as tools up there. Also, there were things telling you about the families of the navy. How hard their life was, especially for the wives. I remember one article saying ' The toughest job in the navy, is that of the wife of the navy'. Families had to move all the time, and then the article said: 'But moving means getting to know more people, and having a new place to make new memories'. Like things to show the positive sides of a navy family. The museum was impressive, because in school we learn about the global wars and some of it is about the Americans; and now I could actually see all the things teachers taught me at school, and there was even more things to see.

Furthermore today, Ashley, Tom (Sierra's boyfriend) and me, drove to Simi Valley to drop off Sierra at her dad's, because Sierra's spending the weekend over there. On our way (one hour driving, but that's normal over here. It's like going down town in Holland) we stopped in Thousand Oaks at Chris' (Ashley's boyfriend) to say 'hi'. Then we decided Tom and I could drive Sierra to Simi, and then I'd get my stuff at uncle Henry's - I decided to spend the weekend at Oxnard - then go back to Thousand Oaks and pick up Ashley. So that's what we did - although, we Tom, Sierra and me went to the mall first and bought some ice cream. Over here, you can choose like what flavour you like, just as we can, but then they mix it with anything you like: snickers, twix, brownies, and so much more I can't remember. After that we went to uncle Henry's and I got my stuff [Edu left me a message on the phone, I didn't listen to it though, cause I was in a hurry, because Ashley and I were going to see a football game at 7.30pm - not that we made it after all, but anyway). So, when Tom and I had dropped off Sierra at her dads (who lives one street next to uncle Henry's, picked up Ashley, we drove back to Oxnard. Then we quickly had dinner, got ready to see the game and went to see the game.

Just got back from the football game. I had never seen a football game before, besides on television - it's on TV here all the time. It was cool to see. Ashley's school did really bad, they lost 44 against 7. It was a nice experience, not that I saw much of the game, because Ashley wanted me to meet everyone, but it was fun. Even teachers come to see the game, and they have cheerleaders too. Everyone's was being really nice: one girl I was talking to asked me: 'You come from Holland, do you speak Hollandish?'. I though that was pretty funny. Now I know some Ashley's classmates, I'm even more excited to come to school with here next week! I'm really looking forward to it!





Oh, by the way, I'm walking around in shorts and tops all day, cause it's like 28 degrees in California! ;-)

  • 17 Oktober 2009 - 08:37

    Papa:

    hi skattie, weer een leuk verhaal om te lezen ik ben blij, dat je je nog steeds vermaakt. ook fijn om nieuwe mensen te ontmoeten.ps. wanneer begint je stage ! hahahahaha. Love you. Daddy xxx

  • 17 Oktober 2009 - 11:39

    Denise:

    It sounds like you have pretty much fun over there! I want you to come back, haha XD Or come to see you (that would be even better!)
    But I can go next year.. At least, I hope so.
    AOh btw, do you really speak English all day? Even with Henry? cuz that was you assignment, right?
    Anyways, have fun over there! Loveyou, sister!

  • 17 Oktober 2009 - 12:29

    Sissje:

    mis je :(

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Verenigde Staten, Washington, D. C.

Off to the States!

Recente Reisverslagen:

21 Oktober 2009

'Just follow me', the cop says.

18 Oktober 2009

Venice Beach

18 Oktober 2009

All I forgot - and more

17 Oktober 2009

Hand and Foot

17 Oktober 2009

College in Oxnard
Michelle

Actief sinds 09 Okt. 2009
Verslag gelezen: 217
Totaal aantal bezoekers 40663

Voorgaande reizen:

23 September 2018 - 25 Oktober 2018

Thailand & Cambodia

13 Juni 2014 - 22 Augustus 2014

Asian Stories

16 Maart 2012 - 06 Oktober 2012

Globetrotting

07 Oktober 2009 - 26 Oktober 2009

Off to the States!

Landen bezocht: